Mashups are Cool

I like mashups. Taking two good things and smashing them together to get something better is awesome. One of my favorite songs is Straight No Chasers’ cover of “I’m Yours.” They mash it together with “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” and it just works. You can see the video here.

My own mashups usually happen in the kitchen. In this case I took the idea from a paleo energy bar recipe I found at Live Healthy Easy and combined it with this strawberry shortcake recipe at Primal Palate. I made a few of my own tweaks and came up with…

Trail Mix Muffins

Ingredients:

6 eggs
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/4 cup whey protein (optional)
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 cup coconut oil, melted then cooled
1/3 – 1/2 cup raisins
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup chopped nuts (I’m fond of hazelnuts)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F and line a muffin pan with paper liners (you’ll need twelve). In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, syrup and vanilla. Sift together coconut flour, whey protein, salt and baking soda and stir into egg mixture until completely combined. Stir in coconut oil until mixture is smooth. Fold in nuts, raisins and sunflower seeds until evenly distributed through batter. Scoop 1/4 cup into each muffin liner and evenly distribute any leftovers. Bake at 350 F for 30-35 minutes.

Cool on a wire rack. Store in an airtight container in the fridge for a week.

Makes 12 muffins.

20140616-202007-73207640.jpg

And now I’m going to eat a muffin. You know, for quality control.

Leave a Reply

